Saturday, July 21 , 2018, 4:51 pm | A Few Clouds 72º


SBCC’s The Channels Wins 27 Awards at Journalism Conference

Winning video by The Channels' Justin Covington and Linda Sturesson.

A video story of a spirited cancer survivor — produced in less than 24 hours — was among the top awards presented to Santa Barbara City College journalism students last weekend.

A 15-student delegation representing The Channels newspaper staff won a total of 27 awards at the Journalism Association of Community Colleges annual convention. The event was held April 11-14 at the DoubleTree in Sacramento.

The Channels staff won the JACC Pacesetter award, granted to the four colleges with the highest total scores earned in on-the-spot and mail-in competitions. The publication also won general excellence in both the print and online categories.

“The Channels is an absolutely exceptional student publication,” the judges wrote. “The look is bright and appealing. Content is a rich mix of features, hard news and opinion. You are in touch with your community. A joy to read — and judge.”

Patricia Stark, The Channels faculty adviser, said a peak moment of the convention was the viewing of the winner in the video contest. Linda Sturesson and Justin Covington won the meritorious award for their video of a breast cancer survivor who leads tours at the Capitol building.

“These two students were literally dropped off at the Capitol and told to go find a story,” Stark said. “They stayed up all night working on the final project.

“After the video was shown at the awards banquet, there was complete silence in the auditorium, and then thunderous applause. I noticed some in the audience crying.”

Oystein Gronvold of SBCC's The Channels earned first place from the Journalism Association of Community Colleges for this photo illustration.
Oystein Gronvold of SBCC’s The Channels earned first place from the Journalism Association of Community Colleges for this photo illustration.

A total of 508 students from 52 colleges attended the 3½-day event. The conference featured one-on-one critiques with media professionals, 72 workshops and the popular on-the-spot deadline contests.

In keeping with industry trends, contests were added in video and Twitter journalism. Students also competed in the traditional areas of news, feature, opinion and feature writing, as well as in news, sports and feature photography.

Some students won multiple awards. Ana Mezic, a graduate of Dos Pueblos High, placed in the top four in both feature writing and critical review. Emerson Malone, originally from Grass Valley and now Channels editor-in-chief, won in column writing and team feature. Mike Clark, a journalism and photography double major, placed in the bring-in photo and team feature. Clark was also one of six students awarded a $500 JACC scholarship.

On-the-Spot Winners

» Meritorious, Video Journalism — Justin Covington, Linda Sturesson
» 1st place, Opinion Writing — Erick Pirayesh
» 2nd place, Bring-In Photo — Mike Clark (jpg attached)
» 2nd place, Feature Writing — Ana Mezic
» 3rd place, Team Feature — Mike Clark, Emerson Malone, Reghan Jameson)
» 4th place, Critical Review — Ana Mezic
» Honorable Mention, Feature Photo — Silje Rindal

Publication Awards (mail-in)

» 1st place, News Story — Justine Young
» 1st place, Photo Illustration — Oystein Gronvold
» 1st place, Web/Broadcast news — Scott Buffon, Emma Hermannson, Morten Opedal
» 2nd place, Column Writing — Emerson Malone
» 2nd place, Feature Photo — James Crosby
» 4th place, Illustration — Joakim Lindgren
» 4th place, Video Journalism — Josie Arvidsson, Emma Hermannson, Emerson Malone, Morten Opedal

— Patricia Stark is the Journalism Department chair at SBCC and faculty adviser for The Channels.

Support Noozhawk Today

You are an important ally in our mission to deliver clear, objective, high-quality professional news reporting for Santa Barbara, Goleta and the rest of Santa Barbara County. Join the Hawks Club today to help keep Noozhawk soaring.

We offer four membership levels: $5 a month, $10 a month, $25 a month or $1 a week. Payments can be made through Stripe below, or click here for information on recurring credit-card payments and a mailing address for checks.

Thank you for your vital support.

Become a Noozhawk Supporter

First name
Last name
Enter your email
Select your membership level

Payment Information

You are purchasing:

Payment Method

Pay by Credit Card:

Mastercard, Visa, American Express, Discover
One click only, please!

Pay with Apple Pay or Google Pay:

Noozhawk partners with Stripe to provide secure invoicing and payments processing.

  • Ask
  • Vote
  • Investigate
  • Answer

Noozhawk Asks: What’s Your Question?

Welcome to Noozhawk Asks, a new feature in which you ask the questions, you help decide what Noozhawk investigates, and you work with us to find the answers.

Here’s how it works: You share your questions with us in the nearby box. In some cases, we may work with you to find the answers. In others, we may ask you to vote on your top choices to help us narrow the scope. And we’ll be regularly asking you for your feedback on a specific issue or topic.

We also expect to work together with the reader who asked the winning questions to find the answer together. Noozhawk’s objective is to come at questions from a place of curiosity and openness, and we believe a transparent collaboration is the key to achieve it.

The results of our investigation will be published here in this Noozhawk Asks section. Once or twice a month, we plan to do a review of what was asked and answered.

Thanks for asking!

Click Here to Get Started >

Reader Comments

Noozhawk is no longer accepting reader comments on our articles. Click here for the announcement. Readers are instead invited to submit letters to the editor by emailing them to [email protected]. Please provide your full name and community, as well as contact information for verification purposes only.

Daily Noozhawk

Subscribe to Noozhawk's A.M. Report, our free e-Bulletin sent out every day at 4:15 a.m. with Noozhawk's top stories, hand-picked by the editors.

Sign Up Now >