Saturday, October 21 , 2017, 4:32 am | Fair 60º


SBCC Computer Team Sweeps Programming Competition

Squad outpaces all other two-year colleges at problem-solving

SBCC’s two programming teams, SBCC++ and SBCC—, took top honors for two-year schools at the recent 2010 Southern California Regionals for the International Collegiate Programming Competition, held at Riverside Community College.

Additionally, SBCC placed 15th (SBCC++) and 37th (SBCC—) overall, which place SBCC’s teams over teams from many four-year institutions, including UCSB, CSU Channel Islands, UCLA, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, Cal State Los Angeles and the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The overall winner, Harvey Mudd College, will compete in the ICPC World Finals to be held in Egypt.

This year marked SBCC’s return to the ICPC since the 1996-1997 school year when SBCC hosted the competition. The team SBCC++ — Keith Avery, Roxanne Brittain and Allison Van Pelt — shattered the previous record for the most number of problems solved by a two-year school by solving four problems. This was double the previous record of two.

SBCC++ also had the highest placement (top 21 percent) of any two-year institution since records started being kept more than 20 years ago. The team SBCC—— Kevin Daniels, Dan Malear and William Moor — also performed at a record-breaking pace by solving three problems.

The ICPC gives the three-member student teams a set of eight programming problems that must be completed within five hours. This year saw 72 teams from 26 schools competing from throughout the Southern California area, including Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, CSUCI, Cal State Dominguez Hills, Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Los Angeles, Caltech, Harvey Mudd College, Moorpark College, Mount San Antonio College, Riverside Community College, UC Irvine, UCLA, UC Riverside, UC San Diego, UNLV, USC and others. The problem set this year saw all of the problems completed, but none of the problems were completed by any one school. Click here for the official results.

Both SBCC teams were coached by SBCC computer science professor Dean Nevins, the department chairman.

“The competition provided a tremendous opportunity for SBCC students to mix it up with the best programmers out there,” Nevins said. “The preparation and dedication needed to participate in the contest was considerable.

“The best part was that all the students had a great time and got a lot out of the experience.”

  • Ask
  • Vote
  • Investigate
  • Answer

Noozhawk Asks: What’s Your Question?

Welcome to Noozhawk Asks, a new feature in which you ask the questions, you help decide what Noozhawk investigates, and you work with us to find the answers.

Here’s how it works: You share your questions with us in the nearby box. In some cases, we may work with you to find the answers. In others, we may ask you to vote on your top choices to help us narrow the scope. And we’ll be regularly asking you for your feedback on a specific issue or topic.

We also expect to work together with the reader who asked the winning questions to find the answer together. Noozhawk’s objective is to come at questions from a place of curiosity and openness, and we believe a transparent collaboration is the key to achieve it.

The results of our investigation will be published here in this Noozhawk Asks section. Once or twice a month, we plan to do a review of what was asked and answered.

Thanks for asking!

Click here to get started >

Support Noozhawk Today

You are an important ally in our mission to deliver clear, objective, high-quality professional news reporting for Santa Barbara, Goleta and the rest of Santa Barbara County. Join the Hawks Club today to help keep Noozhawk soaring.

We offer four membership levels: $5 a month, $10 a month, $25 a month or $1 a week. Payments can be made through PayPal below, or click here for information on recurring credit-card payments.

Thank you for your vital support.

Daily Noozhawk

Subscribe to Noozhawk's A.M. Report, our free e-Bulletin sent out every day at 4:15 a.m. with Noozhawk's top stories, hand-picked by the editors.

Sign Up Now >