Pixel Tracker

Saturday, March 23 , 2019, 9:06 am | Overcast 50º

Sports: A Noozhawk Partnership with Santa Barbara Athletic Round Table, The Lab, and American Riviera Bank

All-Frontier League Teams: Bishop Diego’s Jack Luckhurst, Daniel Giannini Named MVPs in Boys Soccer

Cate's Jolea Moes, Taylor Kane Earn MVP honors in girls soccer

Bishop Diego’s Jack Luckhurst and Daniel Giannini were honored as Frontier League soccer MVPs.

Luckhurst earned the award on offensive and Giannini on defense.

The Cardinals, which won the league title with an 8-0 record, had six players selected to the all-league first team. They are: Michael Romero, Adam Luckhurst, Michael Luckhurst, Chris Mesipam, Luke Williams and Brendan Carlyle.

Bishop players named to the second team include Shea Romero, goalkeeper Gabe Rodriguez, Peter Robbins, Alex Marchand, Harry Powers and Rudy Sanchez.

Cardinals Stephon Romero, Cameron Medina and Ethan Garcia were named honorable mention.

Boys Basketball

The first team included Ethan Ng, Khadim Pouye  of Cate and Laguna Blanca's Devin Hernandez.

Ty Trosky of Laguna and Parker May and Mason Oetgen were second-team picks.

Honorable mention from Cate: Carson Williams, Thomas Nettesheim and Nikemka Chukwurmerije. Laguna Blanca: Christian Branch, Kyle Aitcheson and Spencer Turner

Girls Soccer

Cate forward Jolea Moes was named the Offensive MVP and Taylor Kane earned top goalkeeper honors.

League-champion Cate had four players named to the first team: Kimberly Rogers, Lily Riehl, Grace Blankenhorn and Tali Nam.

From Laguna Blanca, Bea Lujan, Julia Guglielmo and Natalie McCaffery were first-team picks.

Also named to the team is Natani Kent-Earl of Bishop Diego.

Second team selections from Cate: Neema Mugofwa, Rachel Ma, Maddie Erickson and Katie Tunnell.

Laguna Blanca: Katharine Monroy and Margaux Murphy.

Bishop Diego: Alina Urzua.

Honorable mention from Cate: Lea De Vylder and Charlotte Weis. Laguna Blanca: Maddie Kirk, Audrey Murphy and Maggie Newell. Bishop Diego: Miranda Alvarez, Emma Carty and Julia Gregson.

Cate’s Taylor Wyatt and Kevin Shertzer of Laguna Blanca shared Coach of the Year honors.

Girls Basketball

Bishop Diego juniors Julia De La Cruz and Sydney Naour were selected to the first team, as was sophomore Jenny Bohlinger of Providence.

Second-team players from Bishop Diego were Taylor Pate and Ashlyn Oxton while Valeria Avila made it from Providence.

Lizzy Butler of Providence was a honorable mention choice.

Girls Water Polo

Cate’s Celia Foster and Ella Hendriks were second-team picks and Grace Johnson was named honorable mention.

Support Noozhawk Today!

Our professional journalists work tirelessly to report on local news so you can be more informed and engaged in your community. This quality, local reporting is free for you to read and share, but it's not free to produce.

You count on us to deliver timely, relevant local news, 24/7. Can we count on you to invest in our newsroom and help secure its future?

We provide special member benefits to show how much we appreciate your support.

I would like give...
Great! You're joining as a Red-Tailed Hawk!
  • Ask
  • Vote
  • Investigate
  • Answer

Noozhawk Asks: What’s Your Question?

Welcome to Noozhawk Asks, a new feature in which you ask the questions, you help decide what Noozhawk investigates, and you work with us to find the answers.

Here’s how it works: You share your questions with us in the nearby box. In some cases, we may work with you to find the answers. In others, we may ask you to vote on your top choices to help us narrow the scope. And we’ll be regularly asking you for your feedback on a specific issue or topic.

We also expect to work together with the reader who asked the winning questions to find the answer together. Noozhawk’s objective is to come at questions from a place of curiosity and openness, and we believe a transparent collaboration is the key to achieve it.

The results of our investigation will be published here in this Noozhawk Asks section. Once or twice a month, we plan to do a review of what was asked and answered.

Thanks for asking!

Click Here to Get Started >

Reader Comments

Noozhawk is no longer accepting reader comments on our articles. Click here for the announcement. Readers are instead invited to submit letters to the editor by emailing them to [email protected]. Please provide your full name and community, as well as contact information for verification purposes only.