Carpinteria sophomore Dylan O’Neill was named the boys basketball MVP of the Citrus Coast League.

Dylan O’Neill named the boys basketball MVP of the Citrus Coast League.

Dylan O’Neill named the boys basketball MVP of the Citrus Coast League.

O’Neill averaged 18.7 points per game, 7.7 rebounds, leading the Warriors to a 9-1 record and share of the league title with Nordhoff.

Scott Sorich, in his first year as coach at Carpinteria, was named the coach of the year.

Carpinteria placed senior Ian Reed and sophomore Mateo Handell on the first team,  while junior Jose Suarez was a second-team pick.

Honorable mention choices for the Warriors were seniors Luke Nakasone and Gabe Medel.

The other first-team honorees include: senior Chase Plott, junior Kaden Guard and senior Cory Stevens of Nordhoff; senior Davis Flores of Fillmore and  senior Elijah Shayne of Malibu.

Girls Basketball

Senior guard Kaela Kelley of Carpinteria earned All-CCL first-team honors and junior forward Hannia Hernandez was a second-team choice.

Senior Kalli Kraus and sophomore Myla Scott of unbeaten league champion Hueneme were co-MVPs and Jerry Parker of the Vikings was named coach of the year

Boys Soccer

Carpinteria senior goalkeeper Adrian Gonzalez received first-team honors senior outside back Enrique Gutierrez was named to the second team.

Warriors Gabriel Perez (12), Issac Benitez (11) and Vincent Rinaldi (11) were named honorable mention.

The league MVPs were junior Jose Castrajon of Santa Paula for offense, senior Cristian Villafana of Hueneme for defense and Santa Paula senior goalkeeper Raul Zamarron. 

Manny Elizarraraz of Santa Paula and David Nava of Hueneme were named co-coaches of the year.

Girls Soccer

Carpinteria  senior defender Dayne Wagner was the Warriors’ lone first-team player.

Senior midfielder Aly Springer and junior forward Sidney Smolnikar were named to the second team and senior Erika Estrada, junior Kenna Mayer and sophomore Karen Gamez were honorable mention choices.

The league MVPs were senior Areanna Covarrubias of Fillmore for offense and junior Alondra Ramirez of Santa Paula for defense.

Santa Paula’s Jesus Cordova and Fillmore’s Francisco Garibay were named co-coaches of the year.

Girls Water Polo

Sophomore Alex Zapata and senior Sadie Mead earned first-team honors for Carpinteria, which tied for the league title with Santa Paula.

Junior goalie Kate Gay made the second team and junior Cassidy Hajducko (11) and sophomore Piper Clayton (10) were honorable mention.

Carpinteria’s Sergio Castaneda and Trevor Dasnolt of Santa Paula shared the coach of the year award.

The league MVP was Kiran Shah of Santa Paula.

— Noozhawk sports editor Barry Punzal can be reached at Follow Noozhawk Sports on Twitter: @NoozhawkSports. Connect with Noozhawk on Facebook.