Cate senior forward Buba Fofanah was named the Offensive MVP for all-Tri-Valley League boys soccer team.

Buba Fofanah, TVL soccer Offensive MVP from Cate.

Buba Fofanah, TVL soccer Offensive MVP from Cate.

Sulaiman Bah, TVL soccer defensive MVP from Laguna Blanca.

Sulaiman Bah, TVL soccer defensive MVP from Laguna Blanca.

Laguna Blanca’s Sulaiman Bah was picked as the Defensive MVP and Luke Shadden of Foothill Tech was the league’s top goalkeeper.

Cate’s Peter Mack was named Coach of the Year after leading the Rams to a 7-0-1 record.

Cate placed four players on the first team: sophomore midfielder Daniel Boateng, sophomore center back Kobby Nimako, senior midfielder Parker Bowlin and senior center back Harry Corman.

Three players from Bishop Diego earned first-team honors: senior attacking midfielder Adam Luckhurst, senior midfielder Michael Romero and sophomore forward  Michael Luckhurst

Laguna Blanca senior forward Luca Wahlberg also made the first team.

The second-team picks from Cate included senior goalkeeper Devin Kai and junior midfielder Will Deardorff.

Laguna Blanca placed senior center back Sangay Sherpa and sophomore goalkeeper Henry Otte on the second team.

Bishop Diego second-team selections were senior center back Daniel Gianinni and goalkeeper Gabe Rodriguez.

The honorable mention choices include, from Bishop Diego: Brendan Carlyle (senior), Shea Romero (junior) and Luke Williams (junior); from Cate: Lukas Hendriks (junior), Will Anderson (senior) and Owen Conde Raggett (freshman); from Laguna Blanca: Adam Meisel (freshman), Owen Pryor (sophomore) and Frankie Baron (freshman).

Here are the other honorees from the leagues that are part of the Tri-Counties Athletic Association.


Maya Blattburg of Cate was named the girls basketball MVP for the Frontier League. 

Blattburg, a senior, led the Rams to the league championship with an 8-0 record.

Maya Blattberg, Frontier League basketball MVP from Cate.

Maya Blattberg, Frontier League basketball MVP from Cate.

Laura Moore of the Rams was named the coach of the year.

Sophomore Meena Bahar of Cate earned first-team honors.

Bishop Diego placed senior Julia De La Cruz and junior Elliot Redkey on the first team.

The Cardinals had two freshmen make the second team: Lily Simolon and Citlali Morales.

Second-team choices from Cate include senior Piper Brooks and junior Deborah Brittain. Miranda Fuentes of Providence also made the second team.

The honorable mention choices include, from Bishop Diego: Ashlyn Orton-Madrigal (junior), Milenyi Sanchez (freshman) and Sydney Naour (senior); from Cate: Jess Yang (senior) and Imani Oseso (sophomore); from Providence: Elise Reyes (senior) and Elizabeth Sanchez (freshman).


Kai Morphy and Matthew Cunningham of Bishop Diego were named to the all-Tri-Valley League boys basketball first team.

Cunningham, a junior, and Morphy, a sophomore, were the top two scorers for the Cardinal, who finished tied for second place in the league with Santa Clara behind unbeaten champion St. Bonaventure.

Riles Neff, a senior guard for St. Bonaventure, was named the league MVP.

Sophomore Tyler Williams of Bishop Diego earned second-team honors while freshman Bryan Trejo and junior Conner Streett were selected honorable mention.


Cate seniors Khadim Pouye and Ethan Nig and junior Nkemka Chukwumerije were named to the All-Frontier League first team for basketball.

Laguna Blanca’s Devin Hernandez also earned first-team honors.

Juniors Marcus Balano and Skyler Nova of league-champion Thacher were named co-MVPs.

Second-team picks from Cate were seniors Thomas Nettesheim and Parker May. Laguna Blanca senior Christian Branch and Providence junior Zak Lopez also made the second team.

The honorable mention choices include, from Cate: Mason Oetgen (sophomore), Tyler Tom (sophomore); Laguna Blanca: Jack Morouse (senior), Michael Wang (freshman); Providence: Sam Krautmann (junior), Jordan Short (junior).


Cate junior goalkeeper Taylor Kane and junior forward Lilly Riehl were named to the all-Tri-Valley League girls soccer first team.

The Rams’ Taylor Wyatt earned co-Coach of the Year honors with Jack Craig of league-champion St. Bonaventure.

The Cate players named to the second team were junior midfielders Joles Moes and Tali Nam.

Kim Rogers (senior), Grace Blankenhorn (senior) and Rachael Ma (sophomore) of the Rams were honorable mention picks.

Foothill Tech’s senior forward Grace Combs was named the Offensive MVP, senior Keira Bergman of St. Bonaventure was the Defensive MVP and senior Keara Fitzgerald of Foothill Tech was the MVP goalkeeper.


Laguna Blanca placed three players and Bishop Diego had two on the all-Frontier League girls soccer first team.

Senior goalkeeper Natalie McCaffery, senior forward Julia Guglielmo and junior Bea Lujan were the Owls selected.

From Bishop Diego, senior forward Julia Gregson and freshman Siena Urzua were the first-team honorees.

The Cardinals had three second-team picks: junior defenders Emma Carly and Katelyn Hoidal and sophomore midfielder Alina Urzua.

Freshman defender Jenna Johnson was Laguna Blanca’s second-team selection.

The honorable mention picks from Laguna Blanca were: freshmen Emma Self and Brooke Self and sophomore Frances Carlson. 

From Bishop Diego: seniors Nicole Borden and Abbey Carrol and freshman Izzy Romero.

The league MVPs were Santa Clara’s Yamilet Ordaz (offense) and Isa Garcia (goalkeeper) and Villanova Katie Anderson (defense).

Santa Clara’s Abraham Pina was named coach of the year.


Cate senior Molly Harold was a second-team selection and freshman Liz Sutter and sophomores Alekha Rao and Tori Trimble were honorable mention choices.

Foothill Tech’s Annika Arroyo was named the league MVP and Tim Settem of Villanova Prep was coach of the year.

— Noozhawk sports editor Barry Punzal can be reached at Follow Noozhawk Sports on Twitter: @NoozhawkSports. Connect with Noozhawk on Facebook.