Virtuosos group for 2023.

Virtuosos group for 2023. (Courtesy of SBIFF)

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival has named the recipients of the Virtuosos Award, an honor that recognizes a select group whose noteworthy performances in film have elevated them into the national cinematic dialogue.

Discussing their work and receiving their awards in-person Feb. 15 during the 38th Santa Barbara International Film Festival will be:

Austin Butler (“Elvis”), Kerry Condon (“The Banshees of Inisherin”), Danielle Deadwyler (“Till”), Nina Hoss (“Tar”), Stephanie Hsu (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”), Jeremy Pope (“The Inspection”), Ke Huy Quan (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”), and Jeremy Strong (“Armageddon Time”).

The evening event will be moderated for the 13th year by Dave Karger, Turner Classic Movies host and Entertainment Weekly awards correspondent.

“This year’s group of virtuosos is unique in that they’ve all been performing for years and in some cases decades. It’s an impressive bunch that proves you can have a breakout moment at any point in your career,” Karger said. “I’m sure they’ll all have memorable and inspiring stories to tell.”

The last three year’s Virtuosos honorees were Caitriona Balfe, Ariana DeBose, Jamie Dornan, Alana Haim, Ciarán Hinds, Emilia Jones, Troy Kotsur, Simon Rex, Saniyya Sidney, Riz Ahmed, Maria Bakalova, Kingsley Ben-Adir, Andra Day, Sidney Flanigan, Vanessa Kirby, Tahar Rahim, Zendaya, Awkwafina, Taron Egerton, Cynthia Erivo, Beanie Feldstein, Aldis Hodge, George MacKay, Florence Pugh, and Taylor Russell.

The 38th Santa Barbara International Film Festival will take place live Feb. 8-18. Official events including screenings, filmmaker Q&As, industry panels, and celebrity tributes, will be held citywide. Passes and tickets for the 2023 Film Festival are on sale now at

The 2023 film lineup and schedule will be announced January.