Santa Barbara City Hall
Voters can drop off ballots at Santa Barbara’s City Hall, located at 735 Anacapa St. The City Hall drop off location will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m Monday, and 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday. (Brooke Holland / Noozhawk photo)

Santa Barbara residents eligible to vote in Tuesday’s election must return ballots in person at one of the city’s drop-off locations or get them in the mail immediately.

Mailed ballots must be postmarked by Election Day, which is Tuesday, and received by Wednesday, or the ballots can be brought to City Hall and other drop-off sites by Tuesday, according to city officials.

Ballots can be dropped off at City Hall, 735 Anacapa St. downtown; the Franklin Neighborhood Center at 1136 East Montecito St. on the Lower Eastside; and Holy Cross Catholic Church at 1740 Cliff Drive on the Mesa.

City Hall is open 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday, and City Hall, the Franklin Center and Holy Cross Church will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday.

The council chambers at City Hall will be open for the public to view election results at 8 p.m. Tuesday.

The City of Santa Barbara contracted with the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder’s Office to handle the voting results, and city officials say Los Angeles County will be running a tally between 8:15 and 9 p.m. on election night. Officials are expecting the tally to include ballots received both by mail and at City Hall through Monday.

Ballots will be counted at Los Angeles County offices in Norwalk, and results will be available on the city’s election website,, and at Los Angeles County’s election website,

“Because of the time to transport ballots from Santa Barbara to Los Angeles County, the tally results released on election night will not include all ballots received in Santa Barbara on Election Day,” the city said in a news release Saturday.

A second count will occur Friday afternoon, and it will include ballots received at City Hall on Election Day (by mail and from drop-off sites), as well as mail-in ballots postmarked by Election Day and received Wednesday.

Another tally is scheduled the following week covering ballots picked up at the post office on Thursday and Friday, but postmarked by Election Day, and including ballots received with missing signatures in which the signature is completed by Nov. 13.

Tuesday’s ballot will include District 1 (Eastside), District 2 (Mesa), District 3 (Westside) and District 6 (downtown) seats for the seven-member City Council.

In 2018, Santa Barbara voters approved switching to even-year municipal elections. City Council members elected this year and in 2021 will serve five-year terms instead of four-year terms, and even-year elections will begin in 2024.

In District 2, candidates Tavis Boise, Brian Campbell, Luis Esparza, Mike Jordan and Teri Jory are competing for the seat being vacated by Councilman Randy Rowse, who is barred by term limits from seeking re-election.

As of Oct. 19. Jordan and Jory were tired in fundraising with about $52,000 each; Campbell had raised about $29,000; Boise $7,029; and Esparza $6,653.

In District 1, Councilman Jason Dominguez is facing a challenge from Cruzito Cruz and Alejandra Gutierrez. Dominguez had raised $47,000, with Gutierrez at $31,000. Cruz is not raising money for his campaign.

Noozhawk staff writer Brooke Holland can be reached at Follow Noozhawk on Twitter: @noozhawk, @NoozhawkNews and @NoozhawkBiz. Connect with Noozhawk on Facebook.

Brooke Holland, Noozhawk Staff Writer | @NoozhawkNews

Noozhawk staff writer Brooke Holland can be reached at Follow Noozhawk on Twitter: @noozhawk, @NoozhawkNews and @NoozhawkBiz. Connect with Noozhawk on Facebook.