The 57th California Women’s Amateur Golf Championship will be played at La Cumbre Country Club, starting Monday.

A field of 156 players will play two rounds of stroke play, with the low 32 moving on for three days of match play to determine a new champion. The championship match is Saturday.

The event is open to the public.

Annika Borrelli, who finished her collegiate career at Cal, this year is not returning to seek a third straight state title.

Gabby Minier, a Dos Pueblos alum, is playing in the California Women’s Amateur at La Cumbre Country Club.

There is one local player in the field: Dos Pueblos High alum Gabby Minier, who completed her fourth season at Colorado State this spring. She will tee off at No. 10 at 1:20 p.m. on Monday.  Her playing partners are Natalie Mu, a former Cal golfer who won the Southern California Women’s Mid-Amateur last year, and Gracie Piar, of Cal State Northridge, a former Illinois high school state champion and four-time all-state honoree.

Former Buena High star Adeline Anderson is playing in the last group that tees off at 2:20 p.m. As a sophomore at BYU this past season, she won her first college tournament in a sudden-death playoff.

The field is loaded with accomplished players. Angela Liu, the reigning CIF State Champion from Santa Margarita High in Orange County, is teeing off Monday at 12:50 p.m.

Kate Villegas, of Arcadia and UCLA, recently won her second straight SCGA Women’s Match Play Championship.

Zoe Campos of UCLA, last month played in the U.S. Women’s Open in Pebble Beach.

Ashley Yun and Isabel Sy of San Gabriel were top-10 finishers at the SCGA Women’s Amateur last year.

The tournament also will include golfers from Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, Oregon, Colorado, Florida, Texas and Nevada, as well as the countries of New Zealand, Mexico and Philippines.

This is the first time in 12 years La Cumbre Country Club as hosted a state amateur championship. It last held the California Men’s Championship in 2012, and Dos Pueblos alum Kevin Marsh won the title.

Previous winners of the Women’s Amateur include 15 women who went on to play on the LPGA Tour and three — Amy Alcott, Patty Sheehan and Juli Inkster — who are in the LPGA Hall of Fame.


156 players will play two rounds of stroke play

Monday, July 24: Round 1 (18 holes, stroke play)

Tuesday, July 25: Round 2 (18 holes, stroke play)

Following the second round, the field will be cut to the low 32 players for match play

Wednesday, July 26: Rounds of 32 (match play)

Thursday, July 27: Round of 16 (match play)

Friday, July 28: Quarterfinals & Semifinals (match play)

Saturday, July 29: Championship Match (18-hole match play final)

— Noozhawk sports editor Barry Punzal can be reached at Follow Noozhawk Sports on Twitter: @NoozhawkSports. Connect with Noozhawk on Facebook.