The golfers were scoring low on the first day of the 36-hole Channel League Individual Tournament at par-72 Soule Park in Ojai on Monday.

The top six finishers shot par or under, led by Buena’s Adam Anderson with a scorching 9-under 63.

San Marcos senior Leo Metzger and Dos Pueblos sophomore Teddy Vigna were two strokes back at 65 and Shams Jahangir-Arshad of the Royals was next at 68.

Jeffrey Forster of San Marcos shot 1-under 71 and Thomas Macintosh of Santa Barbara was at even par.

Thirty-six golfers advanced to Tuesday’s second round.

“We put up a great team score of 358 (2-under par) even though it wasn’t a team event,” said San Marcos coach Jeff Ashton. “The top 8 after 18 holes tomorrow qualify for CIF Individuals.

“We had some really good rounds and guys put themselves in good position after day 1.”

Metzger is trying to win his third straight individual title. 

“He has some strong competition across the league and within his own team.  It should be an exciting day tomorrow,” said Ashton.

Dos Pueblos coach Kevin Ahlers said Vigna had a bogey-free round.


Channel League Boys Golf

At Par-72 Soule Park

First round 

Top 36 move to 2nd round

Name, School Score

Adam Anderson, Buena 63

Leo Metzger San Marcos 65

Teddy Vigna,, Dos Pueblos 65

Shams Jahangir-Arshad, San Marcos 68

Jeffrey Forster, San Marcos 71

Thomas MacIntosh, Santa Barbara 72

Brady McHenry, Buena 73

Denver Douglas, Dos Pueblos 74

Ian Chapital, Rio Mesa 75

Holdt Gore, San Marcos 75

Scott Nightingale, Dos Pueblos 75

Alex Ortega, Santa Barbara 76

Colt Roberts, Dos Pueblos 76

Donovan Chappell, Ventura 77

Wyatt Gardiner, Dos Pueblos 77

Carson Hofferbert, Buena 78

Elliott Blinderman, Santa Barbara 79

Graham Chapman, San Marcos 79

Laith Reynolds, Dos Pueblos 79

Jack Blinderman, Santa Barbara 80

Jeremy Westmacott, Santa Barbara 80

Garrett Haller, Santa Barbara 84

Nick Sawyer, Rio Mesa 85

Matt Jones, Ventura 86

Ethan Chapital, Rio Mesa 87

Brodie Ricci, San Marcos 87

Matt Miller, Buena 88

Gabriel Spencer, Ventura 88

Sebastian Gomez, Buena 89

Evan Kuske, Buena 90

Rico Arce, Pacifica 93

Cal Harrison, Ventura 96

Danny Smiley, Ventura 98

Declan Hammond, Ventura 100

Brian Villegas. Rio Mesa 101

Sagar Dhaliwal, Rio Mesa 103

Jaeccub Torres, Rio Mesa 106

Jake Terrill, Oxnard 110

Gabe Valenzuela, Pacifica 111

Aaron Esqueda,  Pacifica 112

Thomas Gallegos, Oxnard 117

Justin Nguyen, Pacifica 119

Moises Gonzales, Pacifica 135

Stephen McNaughton, Oxnard 137

Max Vaughn, Oxnard 151

Kaleb Tolentino, Pacifica 154

— Noozhawk sports editor Barry Punzal can be reached at Follow Noozhawk Sports on Twitter: @NoozhawkSports. Connect with Noozhawk on Facebook.