San Marcos seniors Ava Stryker and Reagan McEachen were named to the All-CIF-Southern Section Open Division team for girls water polo.

Stryker led the Royals in scoring and McEachen was a force in the 2-meter position. They are both headed to top NCAA Division 1 programs, McEachen to Stanford and Stryker to USC.

San Marcos was among the top 6 girls water polo teams in Southern California.

Orange Lutheran junior Lauren Steele was named the Player of the Year in the Open Division and Orange Lutheran’s Brenda Villa was Coach of the Year.

Dos Pueblos senior and Harvard-bound Emma Gilbert was selected to the All-CIF Division 1 team. Gilbert led the Chargers to the Division 1 semifinals.

Kamryn Barone of Division 1 champion Santa Margarita was named the Player of the Year. Barry O’Dea of Long Beach Wilson was Coach of the Year.

Avatar photo

Barry Punzal, Sports Editor

— Noozhawk sports editor Barry Punzal can be reached at Follow Noozhawk Sports on Twitter: @NoozhawkSports. Connect with Noozhawk on Facebook.