The Ventura Police Department has announced the observance of Child Passenger Safety Week, Sept. 17-23, an initiative aimed at enhancing child safety in vehicles.
“Children are especially vulnerable to injury in a crash when they are in the wrong type of car seat for their age and size or if the car seat is installed improperly,” said Sgt. Mark Knackstedt.
“We are here to offer parents and caregivers guidance on how to ensure their child is as safe as possible in the car,” he said.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), nearly half of car seats, about 46%, are misused. California law requires all children under two years old and weighing less than 40 pounds, or less than 40 inches tall, to be in a rear-facing car seat.
Parents are encouraged to keep children in rear and forward-facing seats as long as possible.
Children ages eight and older, or those who measure at least 4 feet 9 inches in height, should be secured by a booster seat, with a properly fitted safety belt as a minimum requirement.
The fine for not securing a child in the correct child safety seat is $490.
Parents and caregivers can schedule a free car seat installation or car seat check by appointment only at the local Ventura California Highway Patrol (CHP) office by visiting CHP.ca.gov or calling 805-662-2640.
To learn more about the Office of Traffic Safety grant and VPD’s educational efforts, visit
OTS.ca.gov or contact Emily Graves, community outreach specialist for the Ventura Police Department.