Five Santa Barbara County elementary schools have been named 2023 California Distinguished Schools by the California Department of Education (CDE), State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond has announced.

Santa Barbara County’s 2023 Distinguished Schools are:

  • Cold Spring School in the Cold Spring School District
  • Foothill Elementary School in the Goleta Union School District
  • Kellogg Elementary School in the Goleta Union School District
  • Mountain View Elementary School in the Goleta Union School District
  • Peabody Charter School in the Santa Barbara Unified School District

“We are proud of the exceptional education programs and practices demonstrated by these schools. This award highlights their outstanding work, and we are thrilled their incredible efforts have been recognized by the California Department of Education,” said Santa Barbara County Superintendent of Schools Susan Salcido.

“Congratulations to the students, families, and staff,” she said.

The Distinguished Schools program recognizes schools based on their performance and progress on the state indicators, such as test scores, suspension rates, and conditions and climate, as specified by the California School Dashboard.

The program returned this year, after a temporary suspension due to the pandemic. In 2023, only elementary schools were eligible in California. Awardees will hold the title for two years.

Every year, two California Distinguished Schools are also eligible to be recognized as a National Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Distinguished Schools awardee.

The 2023 California School Recognition Program Awards Ceremony will take place Feb. 16.

Read Thurmond’s announcement at: