For the second year in a row, Santa Barbara High’s Juan Carlos Torres was named the Channel League boys soccer Offensive MVP.

Diego Reynosa of Santa Ynez was honored as the Defensive MVP.

Torres, a senior forward, scored 16 goals and had eight assists in leading the Dons to their fifth straight league championships. He finishes a brilliant four-year career in which he scored 58 goals and assisted on 23 more.

Santa Barbara led the first-team selections with five players. Senior goalkeeper Connor Lambe is a repeat selection to the team. He’s joined by senior Alberto Vargas, juniors Miguel Alvarado and Jackson Wolf and sophomore Luke Goodman.

Santa Ynez, the league runner-up, had four players on the first team: senior Nico Rocha and juniors Erik Guerrero, Decklan Pollenz and Ricky Romero.

Dos Pueblos, which finished third, placed seniors Aldo Becerril, Scott Buie and Hayden Carlson on the first team. Becerril is a repeat selection.

Rounding out the team is Cabrillo senior Eli Pellot and Lompoc seniors Aldalberto Anguiano and Anthony Morales. Anguiano also made last year’s first team.


Offensive MVP: Juan Carlos Torres, Senior Santa Barbara

Defensive MVP: Diego Reynoso, Senior, Santa Ynez

First Team

Eli Pellot, Cabrillo, Senior, Cabrillo

Aldo Becerril, Senior, Dos Pueblos

Scott Buie, Senior, Dos Pueblos

Hayden Carlson, Senior, Dos Pueblos

Adalberto Anguiano, Senior, Lompoc

Anthony Morales, Senior, Lompoc

Miguel Alvarado, Junior, Santa Barbara

Luke Goodman, Sophomore, Santa Barbara

Connor Lambe, Senior, Santa Barbara

Alberto Vargas, Senior, Santa Barbara

Jackson Wolf, Junior, Santa Barbara

Erik Guerrero, Junior, Santa Ynez

Deklan Pollenz, Junior, Santa Ynez

Nico Rocha, Senior, Santa Ynez

Ricky Romero, Junior, Santa Ynez

Second Team

Jireh Velasquez, Soph., Cabrillo; Roberto Montalvo, Sr. Dos Pueblos: CJ Rodriguez, Sr., Dos Pueblos; Jorge “Kokis” Silva, Jr., Dos Pueblos; Alejandro Bobadilla, Jr., Lompoc; Sergio Diaz, Soph., San Marcos; Sam Friedman, Jr., San Marcos; Miguel Mondragon, Soph., San Marcos; Sebastian Alvarez, Soph., Santa Barbara; Erick Hernandez, Soph., Santa Barbara; Luisangel Jeronimo, Soph., Santa Barbara; Grant Fieldhouse, Soph., Santa Ynez; Fernando Juarez, Sr., Santa Ynez; Jack Stevens, Jr., Santa Ynez.

Honorable Mention

Cabrillo: Diego Cardenas, Soph; Noe Gaona, Soph; Gerardo Mendoza, Jr.; Bennett Richards, Soph.

Dos Pueblos: Jorge Dominguez-Soto, Sr.; Anthony “Bubba” Gutierrez, Sr.; Leo Rubio, Sr.; Carlos Santiago, Sr.

Lompoc: Erik Jimenez, Fr.

San Marcos: Isaac Estrada, Sr.; Julio Montes, Sr.; David Satchwell, Sr.

Santa Barbara: Diego Espinoza, Sr.; Cason Goodman, Soph.; Jesus Hernandez, Sr.; Jorge Ochoa, Sr.

Santa Ynez: Carson Gann, Jr.; Edgar Guerrero, Sr.; Aiden Tapia, Sr.

— Noozhawk sports editor Barry Punzal can be reached at Follow Noozhawk Sports on Twitter: @NoozhawkSports. Connect with Noozhawk on Facebook.