Casey McGarry

UCSB setter Casey McGarry (2) ran an offense that ranked No. 5 in the country in hitting percentage and kills per set. (Noozhawk file photo)

UCSB senior setter Casey McGarry has been named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association first-team All-American Team.

He is the first Gaucho to earn first-team honors since middle blocker Dylan Davis in 2013.

Gauchos Randy DeWeese and Keenan Sanders were named to the second team and Roy McFarland was a honorable mention selection.

It marks the first time in program history that four players earned All-American honors.

The Big West led all conferences in total selections (17), which included four players on the First Team and eight on the Second Team. Five additional players were chosen Honorable Mention.

Hawai‘i led all programs with four honorees among the first and second teams.

McGarry ranked in the top 10 nationally in assists per set (10.59) and digs per set (2.48). He ran one of the most potent offenses in the country. UCSB finished the season ranked No. 5 in the country in both team hitting percentage (.333) and kills per set (13.05).

In just 16 matches the Manhattan Beach native matched his season-high in total assists (593) and set new personal marks in digs, blocks, points, and kills. He notched 30-plus assists in all but one match.

The other first-team All Americans from Big West schools were opposite Rado Parapunov and libero Gage Worsley of Hawaii’i, and outside hitter Kyle McCauley of UC San Diego.

AVCA 2020 Men’s All-American Teams

First Team

Ryan Coenen, Lewis University, OH, RS-Sr.

Gabi Garcia. BYU, RS, Jr.

Davide Gradini BYU, OH, So.

Daenan Gyimah, UCLA, MB, Sr.

Kyle McCauley, UC San Diego, OH, Jr.

Casey McGarry, UCSB, S, Sr.

Tyler Mitchem, Lewis, MB, RS-Jr.

Rado Parapunov, Hawai’i, RS, Sr.

Wil Stanley, BYU, S, Sr.

Gage Worsley, Hawai’i, L, Sr.

Second Team

Mason Briggs, Long Beach St., L, Fr.

Colton Cowell, Hawai’i, OH, RS-Sr.

Randy DeWeese, UCSB, RS, Sr.

Patrick Gasman, Hawai’i, MB, RS-Sr.

Alvaro Gimeno, NJIT, OH, Jr.

Angelos Mandilaris, Barton College, RS, Sr.

Keenan Sanders, UCSB, MB, Sr.

Joel Schneidmiller, UC Irvine, OH, Jr.

Scott Stadick, UC Irvine, MB, Sr.

Connor Walbrecht, UC San Diego, S, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Simon Andersen, Long Beach St., RS, Jr.

Raymond Barsemian, Concordia-Irvine, RS, RS-Sr.

Luca Berger, NJIT, MB, Sr.

Evan Cory, Lincoln Memorial Univ., RS, Sr.

Matthew Ctvrlik, Harvard, S, Sr.

Noah Dyer, Pepperdine, OH, Sr.

Addison Enriques, Concordia-Irvine, L, Jr.

Zach Eschenberg, BYU, OH, Sr.

Camden Gianni, Grand Canyon, OH, RS-Fr.

Shane Holdaway, Long Beach St., MB, So.

George Huhmann, Princeton, OH, Sr.

Jaylen Jasper, Stanford, RS, Jr.

Kaleb Jenness, Ball State, OH, So.

Kevin Kauling, Lewis, S, Fr.

Roy McFarland, UCSB, OH, Sr.

TJ Murray, Lewis, MB, RS-Jr.

Kyle Piekarski, Loyola-Chicago, MB, Sr.

Carlos Rivera, Long Beach St., S, Jr.

Cole Schlothauer, Loyola-Chicago, OH, RS-Jr.

Pelegrin Vargas, Purdue-Fort Wayne, OH, Sr.

Daniel Wetter, Cal St. Northridge, MB, RS-So.

Brett Wildman, Penn State, OH, So.

Austin Wilmot, Pepperdine, MB, RS-Jr.

— Noozhawk sports editor Barry Punzal can be reached at Follow Noozhawk Sports on Twitter: @NoozhawkSports. Connect with Noozhawk on Facebook.