The UC Santa Barbara men’s and women’s swim teams opened their seasons with sweep of Cal Poly in a Big West dual meet. . The final score for the men and women were 186-105 and 192-99, respectively. 

The 200 medley relays set the tone for the meet. The women took the top three spots as the “A” medley team of Nina Statler, Samantha Banos, Ashley Ray, and Reagan Nibarger finished first in 1:44.55. The men took the top two spots as the “A” team of Matt Driscoll, Alec Cullen, Justin Wong, and Austin Sparrow, took the lead and finished in 1:31.06 

The women dominated in the 100 backstroke, 200 back, 100 breast, 200 breast, and 100 butterfly, taking the top three spots in all these events. Freshman Hazel Derr took home her first collegiate win in the 200 back (2:01.04). Tyryn Empremsilapa won the 100 breast (1:05.06) and was second in the 100 butterfly (56.23). Statler was first in the 50 free (23.54), 100 back (55.73). Banos took first in the 100 (56.21) and 200 (2:02.96) fly. Nibarger finished first in the 100 free (52.49) and third in the 200 free (1:53.34). 

Going the distance, freshman Isabella Martinez-Spencer took first in the 500 (5:05.19) and 1000 (10:21.67) freestyle races. 

The Gaucho men took the top three spots in eight of the 12 individual events. Driscoll was first in the 50 free (21.07) and 100 back (49.77). After a year-long absence, Cullen marked his return to Campus Pool, placing first in the 100 (56.05) and 200 (2:01.08) breaststroke events. Sparrow also finished first in the 100 (45.25) and 200 (1:38.01) free. In spectacular fashion, Wong and Dominic Falcon tied in the 100 fly, both touching at 49.65. Falcon also took first in the 200 fly (1:49.01). 

The Gauchos rounded out their victory in the 400 freestyle relays. The women’s “A” team, composed of Statler, Empremsilapa, Ray, and Nibarger, finished in 3:29.45. The men’s “A” team of Sparrow, Driscoll, Wong, and Sean Gutowski finished 3:03.26. 

UCSB will be back in action at the John S. Hillman Aquatic Center in Bakersfield as they compete on the CSUB Sprint Classic. Swimming will begin on Friday at 2pm and conclude on Saturday.