Nancy Weiss
Nancy Weiss

Nonprofit executive and consultant Nancy G. Weiss has become a member of the Board of Trustees for Santa Barbara Botanic Garden.

“As a resident of Mission Canyon since 2003, I am committed to taking care of our beloved canyon’s environment and ensuring the safety of those who live here,” said Weiss.

“I have a deep appreciation for the garden’s conservation work and look forward to strengthening my support through my continued role on the horticulture and facilities committee, further building relationships with our neighbors, and spreading the word about the power of native plants to our community,” she said.

Since 1980, Weiss has worked in Santa Barbara County’s nonprofit social justice, environmental, and philanthropic sectors. During her career she served as the executive director of the Fund for Santa Barbara and of the Santa Barbara Rape Crisis Center.

In her current consulting practice, Weiss focuses on nonprofit leadership coaching, executive transitions, grantmaking, fundraising, and community organizing. 

“We’re thrilled to welcome Nancy to our Board of Trustees,” said Steve Windhager, of Santa Barbara Botanic Garden executive director. “Her long engagement with the non-profit community of Santa Barbara and her commitment to the human and environmental health of Mission Canyon makes her an excellent addition.

“As we strive to ensure the garden achieves its mission, Nancy will be instrumental in helping us keep the needs and concerns of our neighbors and larger local community a top priority.”

She is also a member of the garden’s horticulture and facilities committee, which helps develop and recommend changes in garden design as well as additions and improvements to its infrastructure. She is vice president of the Mission Canyon Association Board of Directors, and chair of its Tunnel Trail and Mission Creek Working Group; and founder/convener of the Mission Canyon Environmental Projects Collaborative.

Weiss was honored as a 2018 Local Hero by the Santa Barbara Independent and with awards from the Santa Barbara Women’s Political Committee, the Association of Fundraising Professionals, and the Fund for Santa Barbara.

Weiss joins the 14-member board comprised of Mark Funk, chair; George Leis, vice chair; Kathy Scroggs, secretary; Bibi Moezzi, Treasurer; and board members Jeremy Bassan, John Gabbert, Sarah Berkus Gower, Sharon Bradford, Frank W. Davis, Samantha Davis, William Murdoch, Helene Schneider, Warren Schultheis, and Ann Steinmetz.