Staff members of the Santa Barbara County Probation Department were honored at the 35th Annual Probation Department Staff Recognition Dinner, Feb. 21 at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott.

Los Prietos Boys Camp Color Guard began the event with the Pledge of Allegiance, which was followed by opening remarks from Chief Tanja Heitman and Presiding Judge Michael Carrozzo. Award recipients included:

Special Recognition: Reimagining Juvenile Justice participants Joseph Contreras, Erin Cross, David Etheridge, Lupita Flores, Victoria Kral, Karla LeBrun, Tiffany Phillips, Crystal Rains, Eduardo Recendez, Shawn Small, Maria Story, Brian Swanson and Rose Zamora.

Support Staff of the Year:

Santa Maria Administrative Office Professional Michelle Perez-Ybarra

Santa Barbara Sr. Administrative Office Professional Marilyn Marchbanks

Lompoc Administrative Office Professional Roseanna Rojo

Institutions Staff of the Year:

Los Prietos Boys Camp Sr. Juvenile Institutions Officer Neil Dreste

Santa Maria Juvenile Hall Sr. Deputy Probation Officer David Silva

Deputy Probation Officer of the Year:

Santa Maria Deputy Probation Officer Jessica Deocares

Santa Barbara Deputy Probation Officer Nadia Gonzalez

Lompoc Deputy Probation Officer Nelson Maldonado

Supervisor of the Year:

Supervising Probation Officer Amber Flores, Santa Maria Adult Special Programs

Bulldog Award: Administrative Office Professionals Tina Centeno, Buffy Harrington, Don Heath, Monica Horta, Patty Hunter, Ray Leon, Marilyn Marchbanks, Ruth Narez, Leigh O’Neil, Lesley Stewart, Lidia Stoner and Nancy Valdez.

Star Award: Santa Maria Juvenile Hall Supervising Probation Officers Miguel Monge and William Roberts

Chief’s Award: Probation Manager Sylvia Talaugon

Fifth District Supervisor Steve Lavagnino presented service pins to employees with 20 and 25 years of county service.