Stephanie Nicks
Stephanie Nicks
Janet Garufis
Janet Garufis

The Granada Theatre has added two new members to its Board of Directors — Janet Garufis and Stephanie Nicks.

Their passion for the arts and their outstanding professional backgrounds make them valuable additions to The Granada Theatre team, the theater said in announcing the appointments.

“With the exciting 100th anniversary of the theater coming up in 2024, we look forward to collaborating with Janet and Stephanie to advance the theater’s mission and create unforgettable experiences for the community,” said Palmer Jackson, Jr., chairman of The Granada Theatre.

With some 50 years in the banking industry, Garufis began her career as a teller at Security Pacific Bank, now Bank of America. She has climbed the ranks to lead the retail, commercial and private banking divisions.

Holding B.A. and M.A. degrees from California State University Northridge, Garufis later pursued a Ph.D. at UCSB’s Gevirtz Graduate School of Education.

Her career journey led to Montecito Bank & Trust in 2004. In 2006, she assumed the role of CEO/president and in 2017 became chairman of the board.

Garufis is involved in various nonprofits and industry associations, including chairing the Santa Barbara Symphony Board of Directors and serving on multiple boards.

Her accolades include Santa Barbara Woman of the Year (2017), and American Banker’s 25 Most Powerful Women to Watch (2015, 2017).

Nicks is a versatile professional with a background in print and film production, fashion, and marketing. She has made significant contributions to various organizations throughout her career, including serving on the Board of Trustees at Laguna Blanca School (2011-19), where her leadership skills helped rebrand the school’s marketing, and attract new students and donors.

As the co-owner and executive producer of Concrete+Clay LLC, Nicks produced films for fundraising projects, leveraging her expertise in film production to create impactful content.

The 2023-24 Granada Theatre Board of Directors includes: Palmer Jackson, Jr., chairman; F. Robert Miller III, vice chair; Roberta Griffin, treasurer; Merryl Snow Zegar, secretary; Sarah Schlinger Chrisman and Yvette Birch Giller, at-large members; and Tariqh Akoni, Leslie Bains, Dan Burnham, Brooks Firestone, Rick Fogg, Janet Garufis, Charles C. Gray, Jamie Maguire, Stephanie Nicks and Maria Schmidt.

For more about the theater and its upcoming shows, visit